2016 - The Tempest

tempest_web

The Tempest

By William Shakespeare
Directed by West Hyler

August 16-28, 2016

Patricia George Decio Theatre
DeBartolo Performing Arts Center

"O brave new world
That has such people in't!"

Shakespeare's magical tale of shipwreck and salvation live on stage Prospero's enchanted isle sprang to life through modern circus arts including aerial acrobatics and wind illusions.

The Tempest investigates human freedom: our desire to achieve it, our struggle to preserve it, and ultimately, our forgiveness of those who have taken our freedom away.

Featuring professional artists from around the world, The Tempest was part of the Notre Dame Shakespeare Festival’s 2016 "Shakespeare’s Last Words" season. Directed by Cirque du Soleil’s West Hyler.

Beyond the Stage Events

Director and Actor Profiles

Preview article from ND Magazine

"Dazzling" review from the South Bend Tribune

Two-part preview article from the South Bend Tribune


NEW! Shakespeare at Notre Dame App

Download the "GATHER" events app: iOS or Android

A new mobile-friendly app with pages built specifically for the Notre Dame Shakespere Festival and Actors From The London Stage. Get reminders for upcoming Shakespeare at Notre Dame events, clink on maps and parking guides, QR codes for paperless tickets, and more! All from the convenience of your phone or tablet.


Performance Dates and Times

Tuesday, August 16 | 7:30pm
Wednesday, August 17 | 7:30pm
Thursday, August 18 | 7:30pm (season gala)
Friday, August 19 | 7:30pm
Saturday, August 20 | 2pm and 7:30pm
Sunday, August 21 | 2pm
Tuesday, August 23 | 7:30pm
Wednesday, August 24 | 7:30pm
Thursday, August 25 | 7:30pm
Friday, August 26 | 7:30pm
Saturday, August 27 | 2pm and 7:30pm
Sunday, August 28 | 2pm